Welcome to the new and improved “Gracie’s Blog.”  I am excited about the plans God has given me for the Side by Side Blog and Alongside Ministry.

On New Year’s Eve in 1996, my dear friend and prayer partner Vicki gave me The Experiencing God Bible.  Sometime during that year, God revealed to me His plans for a ministry based off of 2 Corinthians 1:4 – “He comes alongside us when we go through hard times, and before you know it, He brings us alongside someone else who is going through hard times so that we can be there for that person just as God was there for us. “ At that time, I wrote the verse on the inside cover of this bible. There are a lot of things which contributed to the fourteen year time span between then and now. Most importantly though, I believe God was using those years and my life experiences during that time to prepare me for “such a time as this.”

Already I have shared some of those experiences.  Those times which God was refining me (and still is) to be the woman He wants me to be.  Whether my days were filled with laughter and love or grief and sorrow,  God was there “alongside” me.  Many times, He also blessed me with a precious family member or friend to walk “side by side” with.

When growing up, one of the silly songs Mom would sing to me was “Side by Side.”

Once I decided on the name for this blog, I thought about this song.  Some of the lyrics I had forgotten.  While reading through them tonight, they just fit with what direction I believe God wants to take this blog and ministry.

“I don’t know what’s coming tomorrow
Maybe it’s trouble and sorrow
But we’ll travel the road
Sharing our load
Side by Side.”


