Seems most of my life, I had made New Years resolutions and before January passed they were already blown. Whether it was personal, spiritual or financial resolutions, I just didn’t seem to have enough self-discipline to finish the year the way I had hope to.  It became a rather disheartening attempt every year.  Until one of my friends shared that instead of resolutions, she would find a scripture for the New Year.  I thought it was such a cool idea. Starting in 2006, my days of making and breaking New Years resolutions were over.  Now I pick scripture over resolutions as my New Year tradition.

 In 2006, with the Holy Spirit’s nudging, my first year verse was Philippians 3:10 (The Amplified): “For my determined purpose is that I may know Him that I may progressively become more deeply and intimately acquainted with Him, perceiving and recognizing and understanding the wonders of His Person more strongly and more clearly, and that I may in that same way come to know the power out flowing from His resurrection which it exerts over believers and that I may so share His sufferings as to be continually transformed in spirit into His likeness even to His death, in the hope.”

 In 2007, the verse came from Habakkuk 2: 2 – 3:  “And the Lord answered me and said, Write the vision and engrave it so plainly upon tablets that everyone who passes may be able to read it easily and quickly, as he hastens by.  For the vision is yet for an appointed time and it hastens to the end fulfillment; it will not deceive or disappoint.  Though it tarry, wit earnestly for it, because it will surely come; it will not behindhand on its appointed day.”

 My 2008 verses were Joshua 1: 8 – 9; “This Book of the Law shall not depart out of your mouth, but you shall mediate on it day and night that you may observe and do according to all that is written in it.  For then you shall make your way prosperous, and then you shall deal wisely and have good success.  Have not I commanded you?  Be strong, vigorous, and very courageous.  Be not afraid, neither be dismayed, for the Lord your God is with you wherever you go.”

 2009 was a year of extremes in my family’s life and honestly, I didn’t pick out a verse until October. I hate to admit this; however, the year scripture didn’t even cross my mind until I was reading the bible on the 27th of October. In retrospect I claimed these verses as my scripture for the year.  Hebrews 10: 32- 35.  “But be ever mindful of the days gone by in which, after you were first spiritually enlightened, you endured a great and painful struggle.  Sometimes being yourselves a gazing stock, publicly exposed to insults and abuse and distress, and sometimes claiming fellowship and making common cause with others who were so treated….Do not, therefore, fling away your fearless confidence, for it carries a great and glorious compensation of reward.  For you have need of steadfast patience and endurance, so that you may perform and fully accomplish the will of God, and thus receive and carry away and enjoy to the full what is promised.”

 As I joined these scriptures together in this blog, I look back over the last four years in light of my scripture of the year.  Words jump out and connect with my heart.  I realize again how God pieces His word into the puzzle of our lives. As we approached 2010, we don’t know what parts of the puzzle we will have to connect.  Yet, we do know God provides the direction and path through His word. 

 Are you self-disciplined enough to keep your New Years Resolutions?  Or, like me do you break them before January is over.   Whichever type of person you are, I encourage you to claim a scripture of the year.  I would love for you to share your scripture for 2010 with me through a comment or email.

