Tags

, , , ,

2010 Scripture of the Year:

Last week I shared with you, I no longer make resolutions.  This year was no different. As I have prayed about my scripture for 2010, God has confirmed this is the one: 

Luke 1:38:  May it be to me according to your word.” (TNIV)

Christian Soul Care by Dr. Bill Gaultiere is one of the blogs I follow.  Mid-December, Dr. Bill blogged on this verse and since then I have been using it as my centering prayer.

For years I have struggled with anxiety and during the holidays it usually “rears its ugly head.”  So, this year I used this prayer to help calm my spirit (and anxiety) in order to enjoy the holidays with my husband and children. As I took a closer look at this verse, and reread the blog. I realized God was revealing my 2010 verse. 

Dr Bill stated, “We don’t really accomplish anything of lasting significance apart from a prayer intention like Mary’s…Name to the Lord the dream that he has given you for how you can serve him and bless others… Imagine yourself doing this… Repeat Mary’s prayer that received God’s Christmas miracle: “Let it be to me according to your Word…”

In 2010, I no longer want to pursue things outside of God’s will for my life.  I want to accomplish things of lasting significance as I serve him and try to bless others.  I want my life to be…”according to His  word.”

Along with the verse, this year I have picked out a prayer to help in my quest to live out Luke 1:38.  This prayer comes from Charles de Foucald who lived during the late 1800’s and into the early 1900’s. He is considered a martyr by the Catholic Church.

“God, I abandon myself into your hands. Do with me whatever you will.  Whatever you may do, I thank you. I am ready for all, I accept all. Let only your will be done in me.

Into your hands I commend my spirit. I offer it to you with all the love that is in my heart. For I love you, Lord, and so want to give myself, to surrender myself into your hands, without reserve and with boundless confidence. Amen.”

What dreams has God given you? Do you feel you are living out those dreams according to His plan?  I challenge you to get “Side by Side” with God in 2010 and live your dreams “according to His word.”

