Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Brennan Manning writes in The Ragamuffin Gospel about “the second call.”  He states, “Many people between the ages of thirty and sixty – whatever their stature in the community and whatever their personal achievements – undergo what can truly be called a second journey.” 

I am on a second journey and  received a second call on my life. Yet, don’t have a clue where God is taking me. Some of you might be asking, “How can you not know what you are being call into?” I believe you can have a call on your life, yet not know the destination. Our trust strengthens as we wait on the Lord to reveal the next step in His plan.

As Manning states, “Second journeys usually end quietly with a new wisdom and a commitment to a true sense of self that releases great power. The wisdom is that of an adult who has regained equilibrium, stabilized, and found fresh purpose and new dreams. It is a wisdom that gives some things up, lets some things die, and accepts human limitations…It is wisdom that has faced the pain caused by parents, spouse, family, friends, colleagues, business associates, and has truly forgiven them and acknowledged with unexpected compassion that these people are neither angels nor devils, but only human.” 

I love what Manning said in the above paragraph. I completely understand now the “true sense of self which releases great power.” You see, I have spent a lifetime thinking I had to please others. Even to the point of pleasing others over God. Then I began my second journey. God allowed circumstances into my life which I had absolutely no control over. He brought me to a place of utter dependence on Him. To a place where nothing but truth mattered!  God in His faithfulness revealed the truth. Yet, even when truth was revealed, other people didn’t want to believe it. Friendships were lost and life turned upside down. Through the entire process, I recognized my need to have others approval. Then came to the realization, human approval doesn’t matter. God’s approval does. This journey help me realize not only who I am as a person, but more importantly who I am in Christ. 

In a earlier post, I wrote God changed and rearranged me last year. As stated in the above paragraph, the change came with the realization of my true sense of self. For me, my true sense of self is that I am nothing without Christ. I finally came to the end of  myself. I more fully understand about what it really is when we “die to self.”  Galatians 2:20, “”I am crucified with Christ: nevertheless I live; yet not I, but Christ liveth in me: and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by the faith of the Son of God, who loved me, and gave himself for me.”

Perhaps some of you have walked through a second journey, and are living out your second call. Or maybe you are in the midst of your  journey, and are experiencing the pain but haven’t yet realized God’s plan and purpose. Hang on! My experience has shown “God does work all things together for good to those who love God and are called according to His purpose.” (Romans 8:28) 

Seems until the last few weeks, I have spent a lifetime thinking I had to figure it all out. Not anymore. Perhaps this is some of the wisdom Manning writes about. I do not have to decipher it all. Nor am I anxiously waiting for the outcome. I know Who is truly in control and patiently wait for God to show me the next step.

 Chris Tomlin in Everlasting God, sings about the strength that rises as we wait upon the Lord.  As we wait on God to reveal the next step in His perfect plan.

Are you on a “second journey?” Do you sense a “second call on your life?”  Is your strength rising as you wait upon the Lord?

If you haven’t read The Ragamuffin Gospel by Brennan Manning, I highly recommend it.

