Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Here’s to……. a random post. (Clink)   I am going to take a break from my giant fighting and shares some random thoughts with you.

 Last night as I walked through the living room in my oriental proitious pj’s and tiger print robe accented by a pair of green knee length socks, my husband laughed hysterically.  Then said, “You look like someone off the Carol Burnett show.” Aaah, Carol Burnett.  This is someone I hadn’t thought of in a while.  So, in my mind I took a walk down memory lane.

 As a child growing up in the 60’s and 70’s, Carol and Phyllis Diller were my two most favorite actresses/comedians.  There was just something intriguing about these women.  Nothing against the Carol Brady or June Cleaver types, after all my Mom fell into that category.  Women who knew their place in the home, knowing what to say and when to say it!  Then into my life came Carol and Phyllis.  Every time I watched these women they were enjoying life in their own quirky type of way.  They most generally would say a few things or do some things that most of the women I knew wouldn’t even attempt.  

Who can forget Phyllis, her signature hairdo or trademark laugh? And then what about that cigarette holder, the one she always held while on stage. (Come to find out it was just a stage prop.  Phyllis was a non smoker her entire life.) Her zany costumes, wild make up and unkept hair were just what this free spirited 70’s teen loved! 

 Then of course, there is Carol.  The Carol Burnett Show was one of a kind.  The kind of show I wish my children could have watched.  It was good, clean comedy.  Do you remember Mrs. Wiggins or what about her beloved Tarzan impersonation? Regardless of the guests or the skit, there was bound to be fun and lots of laughs. (Even from the actors themselves) It still warms my heart when I think of her closing the show with a tug on her ear while singing her theme song.  

 Fast forward thirty five to forty years, where memories of Carol and Phyllis collided with this middle aged momma learning to live a “new kind of normal.”  This evening, I spent some time watching Carol and Phyllis on youtube.  How much fun it has been! As crazy as this might sounds, it has been healing for me as well.  Healing as I continue to work through this second journey God has called me to.

 After my trip down memory lane and time spent watching these videos, I thought of  a quote heard in the late 80’s.  “We are a sum total of our life experiences.”  Sum total!  We aren’t totally defined by the lack of money or abundance of money, the poor choices or mistakes we’ve made, addictions we’ve overcome, illnesses we have, or the childhood hero’s we once tried to emulate.  No!  Life becomes a sum total of all our experiences.  The good, the bad and the ugly! 

 Scripture tells us that “He who began a good work in you will complete it till the day of Jesus Christ.” (Philippians 1:6) I won’t  totally be who God has designed me to be until I met Jesus face to face.  I need to just “lighten up.” Lighten up and start to enjoy life to the fullest. I have allowed the  heaviness and activities of life, drain the fun and laughter right out of me.  Through the years, I had forgotten how much I love Carol and Phyllis as well as what they represent. Perhaps my admiration for these women explain my love for silk oriental proitious pj’s, pink high top Chuck Taylor’s, and the new “do” I have been sporting for a month.   Tonight I feel a bit more “free.”  Free to be who “He” is calling me to be. A woman who is a bit zany, with a hint of artistry, and a whole bunch of love. 

In closing this post, I leave you with words from Carol’s theme song:

That’s why I’m glad we had this time together.
Cause it makes me feel like I’m along.
Seems we just get started and before you know it
Comes the time we have to say, “So Long”.

Good night everybody!

