In a whirl wind of activity the turkey cooked, table was set and grace spoken. It wasn’t just the aroma of food in the air, but also the love which permeated the room.  While the food passed, family caught up on each others lives. Now the family has gone and Thanksgiving 2010 is winding down, soon to end.  However, that doesn’t mean our gratitude and thankful hearts should end as well.  I am striving to live with a more positive and constant “attitude of gratitude.”  Would you like to join me?

Thankful Thursday was a post on my blog twice this month.  I encouraged others to share what they were thankful for.  Here are the reply’s.

Sandi from Small Town Living at Its Best wrote:   This morning, as I watch the news, I’m so thankful for our freedom, our safety, our way of life in rural Kansas. I watch today, and see so many people suffering because of murder, terrorism, drug cartels, even fires in their homes. I’m so ashamed that sometimes I take for granted the fact that so many men and women through history have given their lives for us to have the life we have. I go through my day/week with a sense of entitlement for what we have here, and pray that God will see my weakness and help me be more appreciative. I’m thankful for my family and friends, so many of which I don’t talk to often enough. I pray that they will be safe and strong to get through their day. I am thankful for the ability to write things down, as now, that we also take for granted. In many countries, that right would not be – government would keep it from happening.

Johnita Crawford: I am thankful for the win in the election and that the fire next door 2 days ago was contained and no one hurt. This could have been so much worse only God could have made it a calm night and no injuries.

Sheila Roberts: I am thankful for my family. I am thankful that my husband is alive today. I am thankful for health and the ability to be creative. I am thankful for a few really great friends who know me and love me just as I am in real life terms. And most of all, I am thankful for a loving God who answers my prayers, not always how I want him to, or when I want him to, but always always always answers

Carol Kern:  I am thankful that I was born to the best parents a kid could ask for. That I was raised with love, confidence and respect. That I was taught to value myself because I am worthy and no one can take that from me. The lessons my parents ta…ught thru their words and actions have stood me well through my lifetime. I hope they know how much I love and respect them. My mother overcame an incredibly abusive childhood to be a warm and loving parent. My father worked six days a week for most of my childhood, yet I have so many happy memories of time spent with him which seemed so ordinary at the time – and so special now. Thank you both for the sacrifices, tears and hugs.

In closing this post, I want to share what of what gives me an attitude of gratitude:

  1. Living in a country where I can still worship God freely and openly.
  2. For the parents who raised me with roots and wings.  Roots to know where home is, wings to fly away and exercise what they taught me.
  3. A husband who loves me unconditionally and does the little things to encourage and help make my life easier.
  4. Five healthy, happy and  extremely talented children. A son-in-law who cherishes my daughter.
  5. A priceless 15 month old grandson, who still takes my breath away.
  6. True friends..those who love me in spite of myself and encourage me in my crazy dreams.

Dear readers, as Thanksgiving 2010 comes to a close,  stop and reflect on those things which give you an “attitude of gratitude.”

God’s richest blessing on this Thanksgiving 2010.

~b

