Tags

, , , , ,

Yesterday I did something radical. Radical in some of your eyes and not so much in others.  For about three months, I have been considering a fast.  After a lot of prayer and soul searching, yesterday was day one of my Daniel Fast.  

For those of you unfamiliar with a Daniel Fast.  Here is the definition taken from the Ultimate Daniel Fast website:

           A 21-day partial fast based upon Daniel’s own experiences as recorded in the Bible. The purpose is to restrict commonly enjoyed foods as an act of worship and consecration to God. Someone who chooses to undergo a Daniel Fast demonstrates a physical commitment that reflects a deep spiritual desire for a more intimate relationship with the Lord.

For me this decision couldn’t come without a lot of thought and prayer. In fact, I initially considering starting it January 1st.  However,  there are some vices in my life which I was unsure about being able to give up.  One mainly being coffee.  For those of you who spend anytime with me know through out the morning, it is highly unusual for me not to have a cup of coffee in my hand or on my desk.  So, the thought of no coffee for 21 days was something I had to think through.  I didn’t want to commit to God and this fast, without seriously considering not being able to have my daily caffeine “fix.”

So, today I sit writing this blog with my sack of almonds, red delicious apples and bottle of water.  Consciously starting 2011 this way because I want to experience all God has to offer me. I want to move myself out of His way and complete all He is asking me to do. There are some very personal things in my life, God and I need to work out. Like Daniel did in the Old Testament, I  hunger and thirst for spiritual food.  I want to be full to overflowing with God.  I know  in order to accomplish all He wants of me and all I desire of Him, I need to start my year with this fast.  I have to prove to lil’old me and to Jesus as well that I am self disciplined, committed and open to what God has for my life. I need to lay down my plans, dreams and desires (and even vices) in order to see clearly what God has. Coffee, chocolate or whatever else I might have needed before,  is not as important to me as my Jesus. 

Maybe you are a regular reader of this blog, or you might have searched a tag word and found it for the first time. Whatever the case, can I selfishly ask you to pray for me while I am on this fast?  Pray I will experience the radical character changes my Jesus wants to see in me, so that through those changes I can complete all He is calling me to do and to be.

 “So I turned to the Lord God and pleaded with him in prayer and petition, in fasting.” – Daniel 9:3

If you are currently are or desire to participate in the Daniel Fast, I would love to hear from you!

 

