Tags

, , , , , ,

Do not let your hearts be troubled (distressed, agitated). You believe in and adhere to and trust in and rely on God; believe in and adhere to and trust in and rely also on Me. (John 14:1 ~Amplified)

Into day 3 of the Daniel Fast and already I have given in.  As I mentioned yesterday, coffee has been a vice of mine…Huge vice.  I didn’t know if I could do this fast, because of it.  Yesterday, I proved myself right.

There was a bit of stress going on in my life yesterday which carried into today. I was just a bit agitated and so I did what comes natural, I caved in and grabbed a cup of Java. I wanted a cup of coffee, with sugar and whipped crème on top to calm my anxiety  and I couldn’t resist it.  Even yesterday, as I enjoyed every last drop of caffeine the guilt and condemnation that I so often heap onto myself, began to cover me.  This morning was no different.  Then it dawned on me, even with this “hick-up” God is revealing more of Himself to me.  

I have spent too much of my life living in guilt and condemnation, instead of Grace.   When I mess up (oh, believe me I do) and after my little “come to Jesus” meeting, my indiscretions are to be laid at His feet and left there.  Trusting and knowing He gives me the Grace I need to live a life in victory.  To get up the next morning, facing a whole new day; with yesterday behind!

Also, because of needing my coffee “fix” God again shown me how independent I am.  An independent daughter of the King of Kings and Lord of Lord, who more times than not tries to do things on my own, in my specific time without consulting my Abba Father. In doing so, I leave Jesus out of it. I trudge through the weakness, or problem without waiting or relying on Him.  Such was the case yesterday with both my stressful situation and my cup of coffee. 

Just in case you haven’t found out dear readers, Life is hard.  Letting go of vices is tough! Difficult to the point, it can’t be done without the intercession of our Savior.  I can’t complete this Daniel Fast and let go of my “cup of Java” without relying on Jesus.  I guess it is safe to say, Trusting in and rely more than I ever have before!  Well then it does come right down to what this fast is about, doesn’t it?  Believing in, adhering to, trusting and relying more on Him!

