Tags

, , , , , , ,

In clicking through YouTube videos today, I ran across Homeless Man, which is a documentary on the life of Rich Mullin.  I am vagly familiar with Rich and his worship music.  However, I had no idea about the heart and faith of this man.

The researcher came out in me and I searched for more information about his life, beliefs and music on Wikipedia and other websites. It is no accident God led me to these video’s and writings on Rich’s life.  Especially in my relentless pursuit to know my Jesus more.  There is no doubt Rich knew my Jesus.  His life exemplifies Christ.  In fact, it became obvious to me that in Rich’s relentless pursuit of  Jesus, his life was a radical transformation to become more and more like Him. The lyrics in “Hold Me Jesus”states, “You have been King of my Glory, won’t you be my Prince of Peace.”

Rich spent the last two years of his life, living in a shack on a Navajo Reservation teaching music and most importantly, introducing those children to Jesus. While he could have lived a life of fame and fortune, he chose to live his life for others. Seems to me he had found his “Prince of Peace.”

This quote by Rich summons up what I am learning in my pursuit of knowing my Jesus more… “Jesus said whatever you do to the least of these my brothers you’ve done it to me. And this is what I’ve come to think. That if I want to identify fully with Jesus Christ, who I claim to be my Savior and Lord, the best way that I can do that is to identify with the poor. This I know will go against the teachings of all the popular evangelical preachers. But they’re just wrong. They’re not bad, they’re just wrong. Christianity is not about building an absolutely secure little niche in the world where you can live with your perfect little wife and your perfect little children in a beautiful little house where you have no gays or minority groups anywhere near you. Christianity is about learning to love like Jesus loved and Jesus loved the poor and Jesus loved the broken….”

So, dear ones..where are you at today? Is Jesus your Prince of Peace?  Does your walk show that you love like Jesus? Love the Poor, the broken hearted, the gays, the minorities….?  Is there radical transformation in your own life to become more and more like Jesus?



