Tags

, , , ,

Angry!  I have spent a bit of time today in anger! Righteous Indignation!

Why? You ask…I will tell you why.  My anger flared up because of the condition of our society and what message it is sending to our children and youth. Lessons they will carry on into their adult life. Here is my take on it.

When we become a society that turns the message of Grace into tolerance, people lose sight of what is right and wrong. The message becomes mixed and our children become desensitized to the truth.

What happens then you ask?  Take a look around, we are living out what happens.

  • Shame is no longer a part of the society
  • Being politically correct becomes more important than doing what is right
  • Sex becomes more like an animal instinct which in turn causes men to view girls and women as objects instead of emotional beings
  • Girls and women begin to think their value and worth is wrapped up in their looks and weight
  • We don’t worry about war on foreign soil because we are at war with our own
  • Entitlement overrides compassion and empathy for others

As I reflect on what I know of my Jesus;  tolerance, entitlement, being politically correct and having animal instincts are not words I would use to describe him.  Yet, his love and grace overcame the world!

This post isn’t meant to be a “Debbie downer.” Although a good part of my afternoon was spent in anger. Tonight I don’t feel like it is the end of the world! I haven’t thrown in the towel and decided there is no hope.

As I typed the above words, these lyrics began to swirl around in my head:

My hope is built on nothing less
Than Jesus’ blood and righteousness.
I dare not trust the sweetest frame,
But wholly trust in Jesus’ Name.

On Christ the solid Rock I stand,
All other ground is sinking sand;
All other ground is sinking sand.

The comfort and promise of these lyrics doesn’t change the fact that I still will have days where I am angry over the condition of our society.  Righteous indignation will rule my heart for a period of time because that is who I am. Only I hope at the end of the day my response will come in the form of love and grace.

Like I posted a few weeks back, I do not want to be someone who stands up and fights against all the wrongs of this world. I do want people to have a clear understanding of what I believe. What I believe is a message of unconditional love and grace. Not of tolerance to allow things that are wrong to be right, but some who loves enough that a hint of my Jesus will be seen through me!

