Tags

, , , , ,

Yesterday when reading down through my home page on Facebook, a comment jolted my thoughts.  Someone started a status up date with “self-righteous church folk.” This quote troubled me not because I consider myself a self-righteous church goer, but because I once was!  

The rest of this particular update was on the death of Whitney Houston. It went on to state how many “christians” were freely giving their opinions based off of her addictions. My heart grieved as I continued to read down through the post because I knew the writers words were somehow true. However,  I was also thankful because I journeyed through a time when God showed me those wrong attitudes  and revealed that I am no better or worse than anyone else.  Most importantly, God helped me realize that He loves me just for being me!

The last couple of days, I have reflected upon the “holier – than – thou” attitude. In my pondering, I realize my days of being a “self-righteous church goer,” hurt more people than helped.  If you are reading this and my judgmental, hypocritical attitude hurt you; I am so sorry! Please contact me so I can ask forgiveness in person. (And give you a hug!)

Brennan Manning states, ” Here is a revelation as bright as the morning star: Jesus come for sinners, for those as outcast as tax collectors and for those caught in squalid choices and failed dreams. He comes for the corporate executives, street people, superstars, farmers, hookers, addicts, IRS agents, aids victims, and even used car salesmen.”  Did I hear an amen?

Dear reader, I don’t know where you are at tonight?  Are you a self-righteous church goer, perhaps instead you are caught in miserable circumstances or choking from the strangulation hold of an addiction.  It isn’t by accident you clicked onto this blog. 

You see, the God that revealed to me what I was and yet loved me in spite of it, feels the same about you.  In fact, He is “wildly” in love with you! He wants to take the broken pieces of your life and transform it into a life of beauty.  He didn’t just send his son for me, Whitney Houston or your next door neighbor…He sent Jesus for YOU! And Jesus is here to meet you where ever you are!

