Tags

, , , , , , ,

Looking at the time on the computer, I can’t help but think…don’t start this post now. Yet, there is this prompting that tells me..Yep, now is the time.

I can’t believe it has been over a week since I posted Polluted Heart. I promised you scriptures on how to guard your heart and develop a proper heart attitude. I didn’t get it done. A little delay, but here we go.

First, I sense a need to be very transparent with all of you. The prompting to write this post is more for me than you.  As mentioned before scripture tells us that out of the overflow of the heart the mouth speaks. Ouch! I have to admit there has to be some ugliness hidden deep within my heart.  I.Mean.Ugly! Because sometimes I even surprise myself by what comes out of my mouth.   

One of my life verses is “Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouths, but only what is helpful for building others up according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen.” (Ephesians 4:29.) I want to use my words to build others up.  Man, do I fail some days!

 Also, according to the Myer Briggs Type Indicator (MBTI) my preferred personality type is ENFP (Extraverted Intuition with Introverted Feeling). As an ENFP one of my highest priorities in life is the pursuit of happiness both for myself and others. So, why does my mouth sometimes get in the way? Simply stated, I need to expose the hidden ugliness and get about the business of inspiring and loving those I come in contact with.  After all, us ENFP’s enjoy talking about people: not just the facts, but what motivates them, what inspires them, and what they envision achieving in life.

Chances are your life verse isn’t Ephesians 4:20. And while a few of you might be an ENFP, many of you aren’t. Your personality may not lean towards being an encourager and “people” person. Yet, if there is any ugliness in your heart, what comes out of your mouth is telling you to get to work!

Heart work isn’t easy. I know! I have BEEN.THERE.DONE.THAT. And here I go again! So, let’s get to work.

In fostering a proper heart attitude, you and I need to:

  1. Recognize that God knows your heart. (Ok. I admit there have been times that this truth has scared the bejeeber out of me. Remember I told you my heart at times is just.plain.ugly.)
  2. Be brave, get on your knees and ask God to reveal what He sees in your heart. 
     “You are masters at making yourselves look good in front of others, but God knows what’s behind the appearance.”(Luke 16:15, MSG)
  3. Ask God to show the areas which are offensive to Him.
    God, investigate my life; get all the facts firsthand.  I’m an open book to you; even from a distance, you know what I’m thinking. You know when I leave and when I get back;  I’m never out of your sight. You know everything I’m going to say before I start the first sentence. I look behind me and you’re there, then up ahead and you’re there, too—
    your reassuring presence, coming and going.” (Psalms 139:4-5 MSG)
  4. Bask in the truth and assurance of God’s Word; allow it to saturate your heart.
    God means what he says. What he says goes. His powerful Word is sharp as a surgeon’s scalpel, cutting through everything, whether doubt or defense, laying us open to listen and obey.” (Hebrews 4:12 MSG)

Told you! This is hard work. Trust me though, if you work through these four steps, it will be life changing not only for you, but those you love!  

So, as the saying goes…let’s git r’ done!
_________________________________________________________
***I am a certified MBTI practitioner.  For more information or to schedule an online assessment to find out what your preferred type is, contact me through Facebook https://www.facebook.com/BridgitSmith

