Tags

, , , , , ,

Giving my spotlight to the Son

When I was 5 years old, I accompanied my mother to the Nutcracker Ballet. I loved watching the battle between the mice and soldiers. I became mesmerized by the Snow Queen. However, my favorite was the Sugar Plum Fairy. She was beautiful. Her pink tutu sparkled under the lights as she twirled around the stage. Wide eyed, I looked up at my mom and said: “I am going to be her one day.”

So from the ages of 5-18, I believed that my sole purpose in life was to be the Sugar Plum Fairy. Ballet was my life. While other peers experienced sports, band, and the world known as “teen dating,” I was at the dance studio stretching and pirouetting away.

Despite bleeding toes, I worked hard and eventually became a soloist. By the time my senior year in High School rolled around, I thought that the coveted part of Sugar Plum Fairy would be mine.

Was Tracy’s picked for the part of Sugar Plum Fairy? Did all her hard work pay off? To read the rest of the story,
click over to wwwBridgitSmith.com 

